About Strathcona County

Strathcona County is a specialized municipality in central Alberta, Canada between Edmonton and Elk Island National Park. It is located in Division No. 11 and is also part of the Edmonton Census Metropolitan Area. More than half of Strathcona County’s population lives in Sherwood Park, a large community east of Edmonton that has opted to retain its separate status as a hamlet.

Strathcona County was designated as a municipality on January 1, 1996. It was formed from the Town of Strathcona (including the former Village of Ardrossan), and the County of Strathcona No. 20, along with the Summer Village of Betula Beach, the Summer Villages of Half Moon Bay and Sunbreaker Cove, and the Summer Village of Silver Beach.[3] The Municipal District of Strathcona No. 83 and Calgary and Edmonton Railway then joined Strathcona County on September 1, 2007.

Strathcona County is also home to an active agricultural community that includes livestock (beef cattle) and grain farming.


Neighborhoods of Strathcona County

Strathcona County has three distinct geographic areas.

The northern area is characterized by rolling plains, low hills, and forested areas. This area includes the communities of Sherwood Park, Londonderry, Chappel, and Ashgrove.

The southern area is characterized by low hills, gently rolling plains, and deep valleys. This area includes the communities of Stony Plain, Sandalwood, Riverbend, Coronation, Fairholme, Summerlea, and Summer Village.

The central area is characterized by rolling hills, low mountains, and deep valleys. This area includes the communities of Sherwood Park Heights, Creswell, Evergreen, Cloverdale, Summerlea, and Kettle Valley.

Some of Strathcona County Neighborhoods:

  • Edmonton
  • St. Albert
  • Sherwood Park
  • Spruce Grove
  • Leduc
  • Aspen Trails
  • Brentwood
  • Broadmoor Estates
  • Charlton Heights
  • Chelsea Heights
  • Clarkdale Meadows
  • Clowerbar Ranch
  • Craigavon
  • Davidson Creek
  • Estates of Sherwood Park
  • Executive Estates
  • Foxboro
  • Foxhaven
  • Glen Allan
  • Heritage Hills
  • Lakeland Ridge
  • Lakeland Village
  • Maplegrove
  • Maplewood
  • Millshaven
  • Nottingham
  • Regency Estates
  • Strathcona Centre
  • Summerwood
  • Village on the Lake
  • Westboro
  • Woodbridge Farms
  • Wycliffe


Strathcona County Place of Interests and Attractions

Strathcona County is a vibrant, beautiful, and prosperous community, with a population of nearly 100,000 residents. It’s known for its excellent quality of life, including over 20 kilometers of trails, more than 330 hectares of green space, and an abundance of recreational opportunities. The county is conveniently located on the doorstep of Edmonton and offers all the amenities you need to live, work, and play.

Strathcona County is home to recreational venues like Broadmoor Lake Park and Emerald Hills Leisure Centre, as well as two indoor arenas in Ardrossan Recreation Complex and Sherwood Park Arena. For those who enjoy golfing, there are two courses in Sherwood Park – the Broadmoor Public Golf Course and Legends Golf & Country Club – as well as the Ardrossan Recreation Complex Golf Course just outside the town.

Strathcona County is also known as a hub for various arts, culture, and heritage activities. The Strathcona County Community Centre houses the Art Gallery @501 which features original works by local artists. There are several museums throughout the area that house artifacts from early settlement days such as the Strathcona County Museum & Archives.


Painters Edmonton provides interior & exterior house painting services in Strathcona County too. Get a Free Quote.

By: Royal Painting Edmonton. (Painters Edmonton)

Painters Edmonton
Average rating:  
 0 reviews